The history of Brazil in Paris

My brother, who is called Antonio but we call “Maninho” (little brother, in Portuguese), gave me the book “A História do Brasil nas Ruas de Paris” (The history of Brazil in the streets of Paris), author Maurício Torres Assumpção.

This is a fun book, full of sights for those qho know (a little) Brazil’s history and the city of Paris. In fact, this book reveals my ignorance about many things in the history of my own country.

However, the author writes unpleasantly sometimes. He despises the reader – as if we were teenagers of Facebook – when he compares historical facts with contemporary soccer players and sub-celebrities.

I am not to read in French these days, it’s too for my small head (for those who do not know, I study French). It’s better a lighter and easier reading. Although I have seen many French programs in the Tv5Monde.

Leave a Reply

